Iditarod Fine Art Show

Another spectacular showing of Alaskan art is in the books as artists from Nome and surrounding Norton Sound communities competed in the 17th Annual Iditarod Fine Art Show sponsored by the Nome Arts Council. 

The show was held at Old St. Joseph’s Church Monday, March 14 through Saturday March19.  This year’s judges were Kristin Kirschbaum from Seattle, WA, Urtha Lenharr formally of Nome and now Chambersburg, PA and Al and Sharon Durtka of Cudahy, WI. They were amazed by the quality and variety of artworks and were excited to be a part of this year's event.

This year the show had the largest contingency of art from the Nome Elementary School.  Thanks to Josie Bourdon’s class of 33 students, a Nome Public Schools category was added. 

An art reception was held Friday evening.  The public enjoyed refreshments while admiring the 141 pieces artwork and visiting with the artists.  Event organizer Angela Hansen extended a welcome and thanked those who participated in and helped with the show,

Special thanks went to Cheryl Thompson and Gale Hagemeyer for renting OSJ’s and organizing the art and craft show, Debbie Flint Daniel for receiving entries and helping set up the fine art show, Nora Nagaruk for typing the name labels as well as Lisa Leeper, Taylor Gorn, Urtha Lenharr and Al and Sharon Durtka for hanging the art.   

Urtha Lenharr spoke on behalf of the judges and commended the artists, saying each piece exhibited great talent and ability.  He also thanked the teachers and mentors who are giving students the opportunity to create and keep their culture alive through their art.

Next, Kevin Keith, member of the Nome Arts Council, addressed the crowd and announced the winners as they came forward to accept their prize money and ribbons.

The votes for the People’s Choice Award were tallied and this year’s winner was “Hike to Dorothy Falls,” an exquisitely detailed watercolor painting of Dorothy Creek Waterfall off the Kougarok Road by Claudia Ihl. 

The three raffled art pieces this year were artist prints: “Caribou Crossing” by Katie O’Connor, “Lookout” by Claudia Ihl and “Pink Passion” by Angela Orman Hansen.  Gay Sheffield of Nome, was coincidentally drawn back-to-back to win the first two prints.  James Eyester of Nome was then drawn to win the third piece of raffled artwork.  

To end the program, Hansen thanked everyone for coming and praised the artists for another excellent exhibition of local artwork and encouraged people to begin their masterpieces for next year’s 18th Annual Iditarod Fine Art Show.



2016 Iditarod Fine Art Show Results



1st - “Across Turnigan Arm” by Sue Steinacher

2nd - “Three Men, Siberia-1897” by John Thomas

3rd - “Flower” by Tula Huffman

Honorable Mention - “Unalakleet’s Fireweed” by Cassandra Johnson



1st - “Safety Roadhouse” by Katie O’Connor

2nd - “The Last Stop” by Patricia Murphy

3rd - “Starts in the Sunlight” by Lisa Leeper

Honorable Mention - “Hike to Dorothy Falls” by Claudia Ihl



1st - “Sledge Island Sunset” by Sue Steinacher

2nd - “The Dress” by Cassandra Johnson

3rd - “Hungry Like the Wolf” by Michael Burnett

Honorable Mention - “Hungry Eyes” by Michael Burnett



1st - “Dog Musher on Saint Michaels Creek” by Nils Hahn

2nd - “Winter Creek” by Leon Boardway

3rd - “Pilgrim Church” by Kim Knudsen

Honorable Mention - “Night Harbor” by Ken Hughes


Native Art

1st - “Mushing Under the Northern Lights” by Jennifer Demir

2nd - “Rockin’ the Iditarod” by Kim Knudsen

3rd - “Seal on Rookery” by MaryJane Litchard

Honorable Mention - “Fish Skin Fedora” by Marjorie Tahbone


3-Dimensional/Mixed Media

1st - “Leaf Vase” by Cheryl Thompson

2nd - “Miner Panning” by Chism Leimbach

3rd - “My Felt-orite Purse” by Spruce Lynch

Honorable Mention - “Large Pottery Bowl” by Jim Dory


Judge’s Choice Adult Division

“Miss Indian World” by Katie O’Connor


Youth Division 11 and under

1st - “Owen and His Apple” by Shaina Hobbs

2nd - “Winter Train” by Luke Hansen

3rd - “Rabbit Ears” by Zoe Keith

Honorable Mention - “Wooden Mug” by Wyatt Jones


Youth Division 12 to 18

1st - “The Quartet” by Noah Hobbs

2nd - “Let It Go” by Clara Hansen

3rd - “Snake River Landscape” by Ava Earthman

Honorable Mention - “Leftovers” by Emelyne Hobbs


Nome Public Schools Division

1st - Son Erikson

2nd - Hanalori Callahan

3rd - Brooke Getz

Honorable Mention - Kaitlyn Johnson


Judge’s Choice Youth Division

“Sunset at Old St. Joe’s” by Luke Phillips


Iditarod Theme Award

“Glad to be Nome” by Lisa Leeper


People's Choice

“Hike to Dorothy Falls” by Claudia Ihl

The Nome Nugget

PO Box 610
Nome, Alaska 99762

Phone: (907) 443-5235
Fax: (907) 443-5112

External Links

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed